Thank You, Halayda Cover Reveal Team!

thank-you-4

Thank you to everyone who helped make the Halayda cover reveal a success! UUP is busy prepping for the launch on March 23, so stay tuned for details–and be sure to contact us if you’re interested in receiving an ARC or otherwise taking part in the launch!

Laura VanArendonk Baugh

H. L. Burke

Deborah Dunson

Deanna Fugett

Pam Halter

Rachel Kennedy Harbour

Bethany A. Jennings

Laurie Lucking

Sarah McConahy

Amy Brock McNew

McKellon Meyer

Sarah E. Ott

Laura Pol

Marisa Porter

Zachary Totah

Halayda Cover Reveal

finalhalaydafrontcover

A mortal alchemist. A faerie king. A bond that transcends death.

Betrayed by a trusted mentor, Sylvie Imanthiya hides on the fringes of society, caring for half-fae orphans and trading her alchemical creations on the black market. She lives for the one night each season when she can see her dearest friend—a man whose destiny is far above hers.

King Taylan Ashkalabek knows better than to exchange halayda vows with a mortal. Even their friendship is a risk; love is an impossible dream. Then a brutal alchemical attack poisons his realm, unearthing a dark power within him—and leaving Sylvie with the ancient mark of Faerie’s savior.

Manifesting unpredictable abilities and aided by allies with their own secrets, Sylvie and Taylan journey into the wilds of Faerie to heal the damage and confront Casimir, an invincible star-fae determined to claim the realm as his own. But only their enemy knows Sylvie’s true capabilities—and Taylan’s weaknesses—and how to use them in his vicious schemes.

Her fate is life. His fate is death. With Faerie in the balance, Sylvie and Taylan must stand together before reality as they know it is destroyed.

Coming March 23!

PREORDER EBOOK ON AMAZON

amazon-preorder

PRE-ORDER AUTOGRAPHED PRINT COPY BELOW – Easy-Pay Online Invoice!

Special Pre-order Price: $12.99, includes shipping (Normal is $14.99 + shipping)

Author Interview: Sarah E. Ott

This week we’re interviewing Sarah E. Ott, whose sci-fi/action novel, Exordia, will release this November. Sarah lives and breathes stories that involve high stakes and character-driven plots. When she’s not chasing plot bunnies or emoting over good literature, she can be found doing one of the following things: a) working as a kids ministry office administrator, b) driving her Prius to Dunkin’ Donuts, or c) curled up on a couch with a book and covered in live cats.

15068965_1245595678846356_9144637674955810783_o

How did you get started writing?

As soon as I learned to read and grasped the concept of storytelling, I was writing stories about everything—from horses to princesses to once, memorably, a girl who lived in a treehouse because her home burned down. I grew up living and breathing stories and literature, and that’s what established my deep love for storytelling.

(And don’t worry. The girl’s family rebuilt their home, though she continued to live in the treehouse, presumably because she liked it.)

What is one thing you hope readers take away from your books?

There’s an easy answer to this—a sense of wonder, the taste of a different world, a safe place to come home to at the end of the day—but the harder answer is this: I write to create art. The human part of me wants readers to find a friend in my snarky characters, to get a sense of what sacrifice and love mean, and to read truth between the lines of fiction. The creative in me knows that, once someone else reads my words, I relinquish all rights to their interpretation.

It’s up to me to create the art. It’s up to someone else to find meaning in it.

What inspired your story world?

Exordia was one of those worlds that grew out of necessity—the story I wanted to tell needed a certain backdrop. The earliest drafts were about a futuristic gang war buddy cop storyline, and as the story and world developed, that morphed into an Earth colony gone wrong. The colony worlds of Andre Norton’s many books, Mission: Impossible movies, and the visuals of the new Star Trek movies were influential in Exordia’s look and feel.

What fictional world do you most want to visit and why?

This question is decidedly unfair! I recently fell in love with Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere and I would love to explore all the unexplained eccentricities of London Below.

What mythological creature would you want to be?

A centaur, a la C. S. Lewis. (A destiny of star-watching? Yes, please and thanks.)

If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

Telekinesis, probably. Or—not necessarily a superpower, per se—the way Root is plugged into the Machine in Person of Interest is pretty cool. (Infinite information?)

Favorite writing fuel?

Coffee. More accurately, my entire life is coffee-fueled. Also, Spotify informed me that I’ve spent over 10,000 minutes listening to music just in the past few months, so I think “music” is a safe answer, too.

Favorite color?

Just about the only two remotely “girly” things about me: my inexplicable desire to try every lipstick under the sun, and the fact that my favorite color has been pink for as long as I can remember.

Thanks for joining us today, Sarah!

Here is where you can find Sarah E. Ott online:

Website

Twitter

Instagram

 

eventschedulead

2017 Event Schedule

We’re excited to announce our 2017 event schedule! This year, the UUP team will be vending at several awesome conventions around Pennsylvania, as well as the 5th annual Realm Makers conference in Reno, NV. Mark your calendars now and come find us at :

Erie Library Comic Con (Erie, PA) – May 13
We will be presenting a world-building workshop in the morning.

sci-fi-valley-con-logo1
Sci-fi Valley Con (Altoona, PA) – June 9-11

 

462437_564380750258908_975124707_o-1-300x182
Realm Makers (Reno, NV) – July 27-29

 

nittanycon2-u143

Nittany Con (State College, PA) – September 23-24

Check back for updates! If you’re interested in having us at your event as teachers or vendors, feel free to contact us at uncommonuniverses@gmail.com

2017releaseschedule

UUP’s 2017 Releases!

The UUP team is excited to introduce our 2017 publishing lineup!

Early Spring

placeholdercoverhalayda

A downtrodden mortal alchemist and a jaded faerie king join forces to overthrow an ancient foe bent on reshaping the world’s destiny. Celtic mythology mash-up.

Early Summer

placeholdercovercoiled

In the vein of Eros and Psyche, two cursed souls find each other on a forsaken isle and together must shed the darkness inflicted upon them–or else live as monsters forever. Mythology/romance.

Late Summer

placeholdercovervoiceless

A dragon convict must own her crimes and her heart to stop a hundred-year war between nations. YA steampunk adventure/romance.

Early Fall

placeholdercoverbmtds

In the aftermath of the Quebec City attack, Melrose Durante must find his goddaughter Zurina Vectorix, who has turned rogue to hunt the ruthless vampire Conan Talamar, before she abandons her royal legacy for the sake of vengeance. Supernatural suspense/thriller.

Late Fall

placeholdercoverexordia2

On an Earth colony where science reigns supreme, an ex-researcher, a technopath, and an ex-soldier must choose between saving victims of human experimentation or stopping the atrocities for good. Science fiction/action.

Introducing Sarah Ott!

Big news! UUP has acquired a novel by Sarah Ott for publication in 2017. We’re excited to share this fresh, fantastic sci-fi adventure with you!

15068965_1245595678846356_9144637674955810783_o

 

Our first fiction release, Blood Mercy: Thicker Than Water, is now available in paperback and Kindle format. We’re in the process of expanding our distribution beyond Amazon.com, so more purchasing options will be available soon. And if you want an exclusive autographed copy, just go here and order directly from UUP!

KindleCoverBMTTW

 

Our winter release, Halayda by Sarah Delena White, is in the final round of edits. Halayda is a unique reimagining of Celtic fairy lore with a touch of steampunk. Keep an eye out for more news and an official cover reveal soon!

halaydapromo

 

 

 

Blood Mercy: Thicker Than Water Blog Tour!

bmttwquoteone

The Blood Mercy: Thicker Than Water blog tour starts next week! The following awesome people are taking part:

Monday, October 17th – Deanna Fugett – Interview on Quills and Inkblotts (http://quillsandinkblotts.blogspot.com/)

Tuesday, October 18th – Amy Brock McNew – Character Interview (https://amybrockmcnew.com/)

Tuesday, October 18th – Blood Mercy: Thicker Than Water on The Write Stuff with Parker J. Cole

Thursday, October 20th – Tina Yeager – Blood Kind and Mental/Physical Disorders (http://www.tyeagerwrites.com)

Monday, October 24th – Laura Vanarendonk Baugh – Dracula, Tropes, Other Inspirations (http://lauravanarendonkbaugh.com/blog/)

Wednesday, October 26th – Bethany Jennings – Character MBTI Personalities (http://simmeringmind.com/)

Friday, October 28th – Ashley Townsend – Special Interview (https://ashley-townsend.com/)

Saturday, October 29th – Launch Party on Facebook! 8 pm-10pm (EST) (https://www.facebook.com/events/1846423622258672/)

Monday, October 31st – GEKE’s Article on New Author’s Fellowship (https://newauthors.wordpress.com/)

Wednesday, November 2 – Ashley Townsend – Behind-the-Scenes Feature (https://ashley-townsend.com/)

Friday, November 4 – H.A. Titus – Special Interview (https://hatitus.com/)

There will also be a launch party on the grand release day! We’d love to see you there!

1ttwlaunchpartyad

Also, for anyone interested in exclusive autographed copies, there is an order form on the Blood Mercy: Thicker Than Water page. Just put in your information, we’ll handle all the billing online, and you’ll receive your own print copy in the mail!

For more information on the world of Blood Mercy, check out the official website – with playlists, author info, and the first two chapters online!